The Championship Race

Following a couple of years of the association successfully promoting a women's five miles team race in conjunction with the men's event, a championship for women was similarly held alongside with the men's championship from 2004. After a slow start, during which only a few Belgravians took part (quite successfully one has to add), the club completed a team for the first time in 2011 and carried off the bronze medals. Since then, Belgrave have continued to claim team medals on a regular basis – and seven times they have been gold. Four individual championship winners have also been provided by the Club during the short history of this race.

2004	-	-	Wimbledon Common — 4 M. Heaton, 17 R. Takayasu; 27 finished; 1 team closed in.
2005	-	_	Wimbledon Common — No Belgrave runners; 41 finished; 2 teams closed in.
2006	-	_	Brockwell Park — 1 C. Wellington; 4 M. Heaton; 20 finished; 1 team closed in.
2007	-	-	Nork Park, Banstead — No Belgrave runners; 42 finished; 2 teams closed in.
2008	-	_	Wimbledon Common — No Belgrave runners; 39 finished; 3 teams closed in.
2009	-	_	Wimbledon Common — No Belgrave runners; 37 finished; 3 teams closed in.
2010	-	-	Farthing Downs, Coulsdon — Race postponed to March 2011. No Belgrave runners; 27
			finished; 1 team closed in.
2011	3rd	123 pts.	Roehampton, Wimbledon Common — 7 S. Amend, 10 F. Maycock, 12 N. Quispell, 24 K.
		•	Renshaw, 33 V. Goodwin, 37 M. Noel; 60 finished; 5 teams closed in.
2012	3rd	97 pts.	Kingston Gate, Richmond Park — 2 T. Jones, 8 F. Maycock, 10 M. G. Spalton, 12 S.
		•	McClary, 29 H. Barsham-Rolfe, 36 L. D'Albey, 45 H. Gathercole, 52 H. White; 66 finished; 6
			teams closed in.
2013	1st	80 pts.	Wimbledon Common — 2 S. Amend, 6 M. Wilkins, 7 Z. Doyle, 15 K. Mackenzie, 22 Z.
		•	Smith, 28 H. Barsham-Rolfe, 31 A. Friday; 68 finished; 5 teams closed in.
2014	1st	92 pts.	Farthing Downs, Coulsdon — 1 M. Wilkins, 5 Z. Doyle, 10 K. Mackenzie, 11 Z. Smith, 30 C.
		•	Durraffourd, 35 V. Goodwin; 74 finished; 6 teams closed in.
2015	3rd	106 pts.	Somerhill School, Tonbridge — 3 S. Amend, 8 M. Wilkins, 11 Z. Vail-Smith, 16 F. Cole, 30
		•	L. Goldie-Scott, 38 V. Goodwin, 41 M. Bailey; 65 finished; 6 teams closed in.
2016	1st	81 pts.	Beckenham Place Park, Beckenham — 3 S. Amend, 8 S. Harris, 15 C. Pennock, 16 J.
		•	Lynch, 18 R. Prince, 21 L. Goldie-Scott, 23 G. Farrell, 28 H. White, 34 F. Cole, 65 M. Bailey;
			89 finished; 8 teams closed in.
2017	2nd	123 pts.	Wellesley Woodlands, Aldershot — 1 S. Harris, 6 S. Amend, 14 M. Hall, 16 C. Pennock, 39
		•	L. Goldie-Scott, 47 M. Bailey; 69 finished; 6 teams closed in.
2018	1st	68 pts.	Beckenham Place Park, Beckenham — 4 G. Fenn, 5 S. Haileselase, 9 S. Amend, gst R.
		•	Brown, 12 M. Hall, 13 E. Howsham, 25 J. Lynch, 64 E. van der Velden; 109 finished; 10 teams
			closed in.
2019	-	-	Lloyd Park, Croydon — 18 C. Barden, 34 M. Corden-Lloyd, 57 E. van der Velden; 108
			finished; 11 teams closed in.
2020			No race due to coronavirus pandemic.
2021	1st	40 pts.	Beckenham Place Park, Beckenham — 1 R. Brown, 3 S. Amend, 4 J. Saunders, 9 N.
		-	Beadle, 11 M. Carden-Lloyd, 12 L. Bray; 84 finished; 7 teams closed in.
2022	1st	50 pts.	Wellesley Woods, Aldershot, 17 Dec. — 3 N. Lenane, 5 O. Papaioannou, 6 N. Beadle, 7 S.
			Riceman, 13 M. Corden-Lloyd, 16 S. Dewhirst, 17 L. Bray; 43 finished; 2 teams closed in.
2023	1st	36 pts.	Lloyd Park, Croydon, 16 Dec. — 2 L. Adamson, 4 N. Beadle, 5 N. Lenane, 7 M. Corden-
			Lloyd, 8 E-M Hards, 10 L. Goodson; 62 finished; 4 teams closed in; team winners Belgrave H.
			36 pts.; individual winner G. Bruinvels (Aldershot, Farnham & Dist. AC).

Team medallists:

1st 2013, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2021, 2022, 2023.

2nd 2017.

3rd 2011, 2012, 2015.

Individual medallists:

1st Chrissie Wellington (2006), Melanie Wilkins (2014), Sophie Harris (2017), Rachel Brown (2021).

2nd Tish Jones (2012), Sam Amend (2013), Lea Adamson (2023).

3rd Sam Amend (2015, 2016, 2021), Naomi Lenane (2022).